Need for Recognition- A Poem By Miss. Lisa Zera Motsu.

THE NEED FOR RECOGNITION OF ALBINISM

The lights of the world pass them as if they don’t live to exist as normal human beings. They stand isolated with their flaxen hair, covered with a very white pale skin and light eyes. Deep in my mind I am persistent, questions evolve, still they are left unanswered.

 

I strongly feel that there is a need for recognition asking myself that who will take up the cross? Young as I am, having a determined heart I believe that the change should start with me from where I am, equipped with a focused mind.

 

Martin Luther King Jr. did it for the blacks, Nelson Mandela fought for freedom of the blacks.They did it and succecced why not me? I can also walk in the same footsteps like these two great and honoured men.

 

In the early morning, while the mist was still thick as the new milk, I sat down to critically think about what was overpowering my mind. Sir Luther and Sir Mandela fulfilled it for the blacks and the “smart” and “intellectual”. Miss Motsu believes she will start a lifetime journey of a dream foundation, in the quest of recognition of Albinos. I cannot blind myself when I strongly feel there is an important matter that needs our attention. For so long albinism has been part of our daily lives but still the society seems to have turned their backs on them. In life there is a time for everything and now the perfect time has come to reckon and recognise those with albinism.

 

It does not matter that I am young but with my greatest determination and being a well groomed motswana lady in my beloved african country Botswana ,there is a deep burning desire that surrounds my heart,mind, body and soul with the thought and an equipped idea to start this oppprtunity. It does not have to start in the United States of America or New York, NO!!! The foundation of this dream and vision has to start with us Batswana.The element of acceptance and tolerance should prevail in us Batswana towards Albinos.We should strive to create an environment where there is unity and the spirit of Botho among us which is going to develop to coming generations. It’s not necessary to perpetrate the bullying, the cursing, and the discrimination of our beloved ones. Recognition resides in the hearts of men and I am not talking about conference tables or delegate signatures,No!!! The same recognition given to the poor,old age,disabled should somehow be also given to albinos and it is not about money or any expensive items, the element of love is what they long for and need and we can do this by holding annual campaigns, talk shows and fun fairs for them so as to make them feel dignified and respected.They will live their lives with hope and a better tomorrow because of the love which found a place and dwelt in our hearts for them. It starts with me and together we can make this journey possible and quite an adventerous and a joyful one.I strive to lay the fundamental foundation even if it is not of a perfection value but with time I believe it will prevail. Let’s not try to procastinate against this issue of albinism.”Procastination is the thief of time.” We can do with less “talking” and more of our “actions”. After all, “Action is the best ultimate truth”.

 

This is my lesson and part of my journey, I believe in it. Make a difference. Change is as good as the rest.

 

This is a poem I wrote in relation to those with albinism…Look at the sunset and thank God for creating you with a unique colour skin.He made you, yes He created you and all you can do is to be proud and set your head on the big world. Everyday wear a smile even if it hurts so much they don’t know. You made it since the first morning and you can still continue to carry your head up high. Be glad and be thankful to God for creating you the way you are.

-Zerah

Lisa Zerah Motsu is a young and upcoming writer with varid interests in different fields. She offers this piece as a candid, eye-opening view from a society that has much dodged this aspect of Albinism for a long time. 

Her Poem was also featured in a local News Bulletin in Botswana as an Op-ed piece.

Leave a Reply

